Established in 1915, Student Senate represents the Students' Association within the University governance structure. Among its many responsibilities, Senate initiates action on student concerns, adopts the Student Code of Conduct, provides student scholarships, and is responsible for the appropriation of funds to student organizations. SMU Student Senate is comprised of the Student Body Officers, the Parliamentarian, Chief of Staff, Speaker of the Senate, Committee Chairs, one elected senator for every 300 students enrolled in each school, and general members who sit on one of Student Senate's ten committees.


Student Senate meets weekly for Chamber from 3:30 to 6:00 pm during the fall and spring semesters. Meetings are open to the public, and students are encouraged to attend and voice their opinions and concerns.