The Diversity Committee shall review all interests directly related to the issues of diversity on campus.  These interests include but are not limited to minority student admissions, minority student retention, the needs and issues of organizations defined as Multicultural, Religious, and/or Special Interest and that members of the committee sit in on meetings of organizations defined under these categories.  The Diversity Committee will also be tasked with representing Southern Methodist University to the outside community, going out into Dallas and providing service and recruitment.  Finally, the Diversity Committee will be tasked with providing a definition of “diversity” through actions that shows issues of diversity at Southern Methodist University are beyond that of just race or ethnicity and encompass a much larger realm. 

Committee Members:

Chair: Gabrielle Faulkner

  • Senator Naomi Samuel 
  • Senator Jose Santoyo 
  • Senator Ashley Schumacher 
  • Senator Margaret Schmidt 
  • Sinan Hurmuzlu 
  • Kathryn Loper 
  • Aisleen Menezes