

Legislative Number: <u>S-109-P8</u>

Author: <u>Tulsi Ram Lohani</u>

Final Vote: Unanimous

Senate Secretary: Hope Heiden

Vice President for Student Affairs: Dr. K.C. Mmeje

Senate Speaker: Krish Madhura

## A PROCLAMATION CELEBRATING THE 2023-2024 VOTER FRIENDLY CAMPUS DESIGNATION FOR SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

| 1<br>2<br>3<br>4                  | WHEREAS       | The Southern Methodist University Student Senate aims to foster a lifelong commitment to civic engagement and democracy within the student body   |
|-----------------------------------|---------------|---|
| 4<br>5<br>7<br>8<br>9<br>10<br>11 | WHEREAS       | The Southern Methodist University Student Senate Democracy<br>Fellowship Program was established by the Director of Civic<br>Engagement on a \$3,000 grant from the Campus Vote Project, in<br>collaboration with the National Association of Student Personnel<br>Administrators (NASPA) and MTV to increase civic engagement<br>for the 2022 Midterm Elections, |
| 12<br>13<br>14<br>15              | ACKNOWLEDGING | The challenges to empower students with the information and tools they need to participate in the political process led to tremendous youth voter turnout,  |
| 16<br>17<br>18<br>19              | RECOGNIZING   | The support from the 109 <sup>th</sup> Student Senate, SMU Vice President<br>of Student Affairs Dr. K.C. Mmeje and Senate Advisor Dr. Dawn<br>F. Norris for their support for the goals of the fellowship   |
| 20<br>21<br>22<br>23<br>24<br>25  | RECOGNIZING   | The two Senate Democracy Fellows whose dedication to<br>expanding civic engagement on campus through programming,<br>registration, and advocacy within the program awarded this<br>distinction. That Anjali Gonuguntla is a junior from Plano, Texas<br>and Cedar Roach is a sophomore from Frisco, Texas.  |
| 26<br>27<br>28                    | RECOGNIZING   | That the Senate Democracy Fellows registered 450 students in the Summer and Fall 2022 Semesters,  |
| 29<br>30<br>31<br>32<br>33<br>34  | RECOGNIZING   | That the Senate Democracy Fellows held programming on<br>Constitution Day, the last day to Register to Vote in Texas, and<br>Election Day 2022; providing non-partisan information on<br>candidates and how to vote for in-state and out-of-state<br>Mustangs.  |
| 35<br>36<br>37<br>38              | RECOGNIZING   | That the Campus Vote Project and NASPA awarded a 2023-<br>2024 Voter Friendly Campus Designation for SMU, effective from<br>March 2023 to December 2024,  |



| 39<br>40<br>41<br>42             | RECOGNIZING              | The initiative recognizes institutions that have planned and<br>implemented practices that encourage their students to register<br>and vote in the 2022 elections and in coming years.   |
|----------------------------------|--------------------------|--|
| 43<br>44<br>45<br>46<br>47<br>48 | BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED | The 109 <sup>th</sup> Student Senate celebrate the 2023-2024 Voter<br>Friendly Campus Designation for Southern Methodist University in<br>recognition work by fellows Anjali Gonuguntla and Cedar Roach<br>of the SMU Student Senate Democracy Fellowship Program to<br>foster civic engagement on campus. |
| 49<br>50                         | BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED   | That Mustangs continue to remain civically engaged in every Election possible.   |

Respectfully Submitted,

## Tulsi Ram Lohani

Student Senate Parliamentarian Student Senate Director for Civic Engagement