Legislative Number: <u>S-110-P04</u> Final Vote: <u>47-0-0</u>

Authors(x): <u>Castle, Tonkin, Leathers.</u> Senate Secretary: <u>Michael Castle</u>

Vice President for Student Affairs: <u>Dr. K.C. Mmeje</u> Senate Speaker: <u>Connor Ferguson</u>

Fizz Proclamation

1		
1 2 3 4	WHEREAS	The Southern Methodist University Student Senate supports and joins the SMU community in informing SMU students of misinformation spread on the Social Media platform Fizz Social Corp. hereinafter referred to as Fizz.
5 6 7 8 9	WHEREAS	The Southern Methodist University Student Senate condemns the hurtful speech often perpetuated on the Fizz platform.
10 11 12	ACKNOWLEDGING	The harmful impact Fizz has on organizations and individual students' mental health.
13 14 15 16 17	RECOGNIZING	That the negative actions of the few don't represent the voice of many positive and supportive students on SMU's campus. That many negative Fizz posts are not based in truth and have no true merit.
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27	BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED	The 110th Student Senate encourages all students to be mindful of what they say on the Fizz app by being cognizant of the impacts negative posts can have on others. Reminding students that they can be held accountable for what is posted to fizz and to be aware that their SMU email is tied to individuals accounts and that SMU PD takes actions such as, but not limited to: slander, bigotry, harassment, voyeurism, or threats of any nature.
28 29 30 31	BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED	The 110th Student Senate encourages all students to delete or refraining from posting negative comments on the Fizz app to create a more positive and welcoming campus for all SMU students.



Respectfully Submitted,

Michael Castle
Student Body Secretary

Bryce TonkinMeadows Senator

Will Leathers
Parliamentarian

Inter Fraternity Council

Bryce Tonkin
President of Inter Fraternity Council

Jackson Kriger President of Alpha Epsilon Pi

James Tota President of Beta Theta Pi Ben Murphy President of Beta Upsilon Chi

Brett Chumley President of Kappa Sigma

Thomas Powitzky President of Sigma Nu

Cooper Dirck President of Sigma Chi Taylor Cohen Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Davis Childers

President of Phi Gamma Delta

Will Epperly President of Delta Sigma Phi

6) plum