Legislative Number: S-110-05 Final Vote: 48-1-2

Authors(x): Osborn, Krieger, Tonkin, Mackenzie

Senate Secretary: Michael Castle

Vice President for Student Affairs: Dr. K.C. Mmeje

Senate Speaker: Connor Ferguson

Internal Conflict Prevention Act

WHEREAS 1 The Southern Methodist University Student Senate chooses to 2 update the Student Senate bylaws as follows. This legislation 3 4 5 aims to address the potential conflict of interest between the scholarship committee and the voting members of the SMU Student Senate. 6 7 **ACKNOWLEDGING** There is a need to limit the influence of senators, elected 8 executives, or any person with voting authority on the SMU 9 Student Senate not currently on the Scholarship Committee on the 10 scholarship decision-making process. 11 12 **RECOGNIZING** Those on the Student Senate can have influence over the 13 individuals in the Scholarship Committees' decision-making 14 process. 15 16 BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED That the Student Senate wishes to update the Student Senate 17 Bylaws Article 5. Committees Section 3. Seasonal Committees 2. 18 Scholarship Committee 3. and Scholarship Committee bylaws shall 19 be revised to say, "All Senate Executives, the Scholarship 20 Committee Chair, and all senators on the Scholarship Committee 21 shall be ineligible from receiving scholarships granted by the 22 SMU Student Senate Scholarship Committee." in accordance. 23 24 BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED That the Student Senate wishes to update the Student Senate 25 Bylaws under Article 5. Section 3. Sub-Section 2. 4. Shall be 26 added to say, "All Current and past Senators and committee 27 chairs who apply for the Student Senate scholarship committee 28 scholarships shall be reviewed by someone who does not hold a 29 position on the SMU Student Senate, preferably a student, or a 30 staff member can review them as a secondary option." In 31 accordance 32 33 BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED The 110th Student Senate is in agreeance in updating the Senate 34 bylaws and Senate Governance.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brett OsbornPre-Major Senator

Anika Krieger



Scholarship Committee Chair

Bryce Tonkin Meadows Senator

William Mackenzie SMU Student